Anti-virus maker AVG is warning of a new worm spreading on Facebook via user’s walls.

According to one of AVG’s bloggers, the worm spreads as users that are already logged into the social network click on the suggestive photo that is being placed on their walls by infected friends.

Here’s how it works:

“For those unfamiliar with FacebookFacebookFacebook

(is there anyone other than me in that set?) the thumbnail of the worm’s infective page is a link to the page. The worm’s objective, of course, is that others viewing the victim’s wall will click the link, and as they are logged into Facebook, the worm will propagate its link to that victim’s wall, and so on…

This worm uses what is technically known as a CSRF (Cross-site Request Forgery, also called XSRF) attack. A sequence of iframes on the exploit page call a sequence of other pages and scripts, eventually resulting in a form submission to Facebook “as if” the victim had submitted a URL for a wall post and clicked on the “Share” button to confirm the post.”

While this attack seems to cause more embarrassment than it does damage to your computer or account, it also seems like one of the easier ones to fall for since all it requires is “clicking da button, baby.” The long and short of it seems to be: avoid the booty.

Mashable is again a timely source of info! Be careful, Friends! Just another way porno is trying to worm its way into innocent people’s lives. Avoid the temptation, People! Porno is addictive, and many porno sites load adware on your machine to make porno your home page, and any adware is a good way to open the back door to viruses. Any page of a site can expire and be snapped up by a porno company; Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City was a victim of this.

What to do? If you go to a site and get a porno page, just turn your computer off. Period. This doesn’t give the nasty adware a chance to be downloaded. If on Windows, you’ll get a screen on restarting that asks if you want to boot normally. Say yes, because you crashed your machine. It should work just fine, and you saved yourself the trouble of reformatting your hard drive!

Don’t use the off button to close up your PC under normal circumstances. It’s an emergency measure only, for cases where your PC freezes up and nothing works, or if you can’t use the shutdown routine through your operating system [the friendly desktop].

Hope this helps!
Dannis

Posted via web from Dannis’ Posterous From DanniStories

Advertisements